Vice Chancellors of three oldest universities at USTM Convocation 2017

Prof. Mihir Kanti Chaudhury will be delivered honorary Doctor of Science & Dr. D D Lapang honorary D. Litt.

3rd June, 2017, USTM : University of Science & Technology Meghalaya will host 2nd Convocation at the Techno City Campus on 10th June, 2017. Three vice chancellors of the oldest universities in India, Prof. Girish Chandra Tripathi, Vice Chancellor, BHU and Prof. Ashotosh Ghosh, Vice Chancellor, University of Calcutta and Prof. Sanjay V Deshmukh will grace the occasion. Sh. Mahbubul Hoque, Chancellor, USTM believes that this is going to be a rare opportunity when vice chancellors of three oldest universities in India, University of Calcutta, Mumbai and Banaras Hindu University will share the same platform at USTM Techno City Campus to exchange their ideas, tales of their legacy and heritage and is expected to open up newer avenues of academic cooperation and tie-ups, especially in the field of research, scholarly discourses and endeavors for achieving excellence.
While recounting an excerpt from the convocation speech delivered by Sir Ashutosh Mookerjee, the legendary VC of Calcutta University “Those amongst you who have just been admitted to your degrees, will now enter into the great arena of the world. There you will walk into the shadows sometimes, and if you are worthy, just as often in the light. There you will feel the sting of defeat sometimes, and if you are strong, just as often in the elation of victory. But in whatever sphere your lot may be cast, whatever your hopes and fears, turn back to your Alma Mater with filial piety and attachment” – Dr. P G Rao, Vice Chancellor, USTM asserted that our university, though still in its infancy, wishes to create a strong Alumni connectivity and will always be with the students, both existing and former.
Sources from the university authority informed “we have resolved to confer honorary Doctor of Science to Prof. Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri, former Vice Chancellor, Tezpur University and honorary D.Litt to Dr. D D Lapang, former Chief Minister, Meghalaya and present member of the Advisory Committee to Meghalaya Govt. This is a token gesture of showing our reverence to both the scholar and the eminent politician ; Prof. Chaudhury has set an example to our next generation in the field of scientific research in chemistry, for his studies on the synthesis of dioxygen complexes and fluorine compounds of metals and non metals while Dr. D D Lapang, former Chief Minister of Meghalaya has laid immense contribution for the socio-economic development of North East.
USTM, the only University in the North East dedicated to the studies of Science and Technology had started its journey from a humble beginning in the year 2011 with just six students, the university has now more than 3500 students from all over North East and in the meanwhile a total number of 1283 students have passed out from the university out of which 583 students will be receiving degrees at different levels. A total number of 583 students which includes 518 students will receive post-graduate degree, 61 students will receive under-graduate degree while 4 scholars will be awarded Ph.D degree.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.