First NE College Magazine Competition awards distributed

The awards of first North East College Magazine Competition organized by USTM were distributed on 9th August, 2015 at Hotel Landmark in Guwahati. The Publication Cell of the varsity organized the competition in order to encourage young upcoming writers, editors, layout designers of different college magazines from across the northeastern region. Present on the occasion Shri P J Baruah, Executive Editor of The Assam Tribune who was one of the member of the jury highlighted on the aspects of the competition. He said that although this was the first of its kind in the region, the response has been very encouraging. More than 70 entries from Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura were received.

The three best magazines – ‘Vetkol’ by College of Veterinary Science, Khanapara, ‘Cottonian’ by Cotton College and ‘Aaikyadeep’ by Doom Dooma College were awarded with one computer, memento and certificates. College magazines of Rangia College, Devraj Roy College and Nagaon College begged the consolation prizes with cash awards. Awards under different categories like ‘Best Cover Page’, ‘Best Article’, ‘Best Woman Editor’ and ‘Best Woman Writer’ were also distributed.The winners are ‘Best Cover Page’: College of Veterinary Science, Khanapara, ‘Best Woman Editor’: Linamoni Mahan of Moran Girls’ College, ‘Best Article: Woman’: ‘Manabata Aaru Manabiya Mulyabodhor Abakhaya’ by Priyanka Basumatary of B Barooah College, ‘Best Article’: ‘Xatra Nagari Barpetar Doul Utsav: Eti Alokpat’ by Raktava Kumar Das of B Barooah College.Special Jury Awards went to Buddha Bhanu College, Shillong, Meghalaya; Immanuel College, Dimapur, Nagaland; Holy Cross College, Agartala, Tripura; Silapather College, Assam; and Al Ajmiatul Islamia, Badarpur, Assam.

The awards were distributed by Shri R. S. Mooshahary, Former Governor of Meghalaya in a glittering function in presence of Prof. Amarjyoti Choudhury, Pro Vice Chancellor of Tezpur University; Dr. N. K. Chaudhury, Former Vice Chancellor of Gauhati University; Dr. A. C. Bhagabati, Former Vice Chancellor of Rajib Gandhi University and Shri H. N. Das, Former Chief Secretary of Govt. of Assam; Padmashree Lakhi Nandan Bora and other renowned personalities and academicians of the region along with senior executives of media houses.